What are Shared Folders?

Shared Folders allow you to share your Bots and Apps with your team members. One needs to first create a shared folder and invite members to it. Once members join, the folders are accessible to them in the "Shared Folders" section in the Bots tab.

Every folder member can view & modify the Bots and Apps in the folder. They can also create new Bots using the Apps in the folder.


How to create a shared folder?

You can create a new shared folder by visiting the Bots page and clicking the '+' button as highlighted in the below screenshot. You can set the name of the shared folder and hit Enter/Return key. By default, the creator of the shared folder will be its owner.

✅ Is there a limit on the number of shared folders to be created?

No, there is no such limit.


Inviting members/co-workers to a shared folder

Any member of the shared folder can invite other team members to the shared folder. Please note, these members can either be present in your Automate.io account or they'd be invited to your account as well as the shared folder afresh.

✅ How do I invite someone to a shared folder?

1. Go to the Bots page.

2. Scroll down on the left menu to find the shared folder in which a member is to be invited.

3. Click on the folder name to open it.

4. Head to Members tab.

5. Click on Invite a Member at the top right in the shared folder or at the bottom as shown in the below screenshot.

6. Now, you can invite someone to the shared folder using any of the two methods present: Email and Invite link.

Note: There is no limit on the number of members invited to a shared folder.

✅ How long is the invite valid?

The invite sent via email is valid for a period of 30 days. The member needs to accept the invite within 30 days.

✅ Is there a limit on how many members can be invited?

No, there is no such limit on the number of members to be invited in a shared folder.


✅ How do I cancel or resend an invite?

You can cancel the invite as well as resend it to the members(s) in case they haven’t received it. Please refer to the screenshot below.

✅ Can I remove a member from a shared folder?

You can remove a member from a shared folder ONLY if you are the owner of the shared folder. Please follow the below steps to remove a member.

1. Go to the shared folder from which you want to remove the member.

2. Head to the Members section of that shared folder.

3. Click on the three dots on the member you wish to remove from that shared folder.

Once you click on Remove, the member will lose access to that shared folder.

✅ What happens when you remove a member from a shared folder?

When you remove a member from a shared folder:

  1. All the apps added/shared by that member will be unshared from the shared folder.

  2. All the Bots using that member's apps will be stopped & transferred to the shared folder owner's account.

  3. That member will lose access to Bots & apps shared by other members in that shared folder.


Sharing Bots with members/co-workers via a shared folder

You can share the Bot only with a shared folder, or simply put, you can move your Bot to a shared folder. The shared folder will have members who can then create new Bots or edit your Bot.

✅ How do I share the Bot with someone?

You can share the Bot by moving it to a shared folder. If you don't have any folder in your 'Shared folders' section, please create a shared folder first. You can then follow the below steps to move an existing Bot to a shared folder.

1. Hover over an existing Bot in your account and click on the 'Move Bot to Folder' icon.

2. Find your target folder in which you want to move the Bot and click on that folder name.

3. Once selected, the bot is now moved to the shared folder of your choice.

✅ What happens when you share a Bot or move a Bot to a shared folder?

When you move a Bot to a shared folder, the Bot, as well as the app(s) present in the Bot, are added to that shared folder. The members present in the shared folder can then edit your Bot or create new Bots using your shared apps. You can also create or edit other members' Bots or create new Bots using the apps shared by other team members.

✅ Is it possible to share a Bot without sharing the apps in it?

No, if you share a Bot, the apps present in the Bot will be shared with the members of the folder too.

✅ As a member, what access do I have for Apps in the shared folder?

You can only add new apps, or create new Bots using the apps already present in the shared folder.

✅ As an owner, what access do I have for Apps in the shared folder?

You can remove or reconnect existing apps from the shared folder as well as add new apps.


Sharing Apps with members/co-workers via a shared folder

Sharing Apps means sharing the accounts you have authenticated in Automate.io. Example: your Slack account, your Pipedrive organization account, etc.

✅ How do I share an app with someone?

You can share the app by sharing/adding it to a shared folder. If you don't have any folder in your 'Shared folders' section, please create a shared folder first. Once the shared folder is created, there are three ways to share an app with that folder.

  1. Private Apps page

    1. Go to the Apps page and find the app you want to share with the shared folder.

    2. Click on the three dots present on the app box at the top right.

    3. Click on Share and select the folder with which you would like to share that app.

  2. Shared Folder Apps page

    1. Go to the shared folder of your choice and head to the Apps page available between Bots and Members.

    2. Click on the blue Add an App button and choose if you want to connect an existing app or a fresh app.

  3. Bots page

    1. Go to the All Bots page.

    2. Share the Bot and its apps will be shared with the folder too. In case you missed how to share a bot, please refer here.

✅ How do I unshare an app?

You can unshare the app in two ways. Please check them out below.

  1. Private Apps page

    1. Go to the Apps page and find the app you want to unshare with the shared folder. It should be under the Shared Apps.

    2. Click on the three dots present on the app box at the top right.

    3. Click on Share and select the folder from which you would like to unshare that app.

  2. Shared Folder Apps page

    1. Go to the shared folder of your choice and head to the Apps page available between Bots and Members.

    2. Click on the three dots present on the app box at the top right.

    3. Click on Share and select the folder from which you would like to unshare that app.


In case you have any questions about shared folders, please reach out to our support team available 24x5 🙋‍♂️

Did this answer your question?