What is Data Retention Controls?
Data Retention Controls (DRC) is a feature on Automate.io that helps you control how long your Bot activity logs are stored on Automate.io’s servers.
Your Bot activity logs might contain sensitive information from the input & output of your trigger and action apps. With DRC, you can now set rules for deleting this data from your activity logs. This is particularly useful if your company deals with sensitive data or if you need to comply with regulation / industry standards.
What exactly are Bot activity logs?
Each time your Bot runs, an activity log is created which contains the Input, Output and the associated data coming from your trigger and action apps.
To learn about Bot activity, click here.
The Bot activity logs are stored for a period of 30 days by default. But with DRC you can customize this period to match your requirements. You can set it to a minimum of 1 hour to a maximum of 60 days from the time the Activity log is created.
After this period, the Input and Output data from your Bot activity logs will be deleted. However, you will still be able to see the basic information like the time when it ran, the trigger and action apps associated with it, whether they ran fine etc. Refer to the image below.
How to enable DRC on my Automate.io account?
Prerequisite: To use this feature, you need to be either on the Business or the Enterprise plan.
Now follow the steps below.
Login to your Automate.io account. and go to Settings.
Select the Data tab.
Click on the Edit button to choose how long you want to retain your Bot activity. And then click Save.
You will also see an option - "Don't delete data when there is an error"
With this enabled, data will not be deleted for Activity logs where there is an error. It will be saved for a period of 60 days.
We recommend you to enable this. This will help you with error diagnosis and for debugging purposes.
If you uncheck it, the retention period of your error activity log data would be the same as your bot activity log data—be it 1 hour or 1 day or 7 days, etc. and you might not be able to debug your errors.
Based on the retention period you choose and the error preferences, your Bot activity logs will be deleted periodically.
Note that any changes you make to the retention settings will only affect the Bot activity logs that will be generated from that point on. The changes will not affect the existing activity logs.
How it works with Auto-retry
We also recommend you to enable Auto-retry in your account. It is basically a safety net against data loss due to Bot misconfiguration or API downtime in the apps you use. With Auto-retry, you can make your Bot automatically retry any failed actions over the next 24 hours.
So if you have Auto-retry feature enabled in your account, we would not be deleting your error activity data until your bot successfully runs or until all of the Auto-retry attempts finish. (maximum of 24 hours).